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Choose the agency that you would like to provide input about
Board of Pardons and Paroles

Public Comments
1

First Name
Andrew

Last Name
Kahan

Organization you are affiliated with
Crime Stoppers of Houston

Email

akahan(@crime-stoppers.org

City
Houston

State
Texas

Your Comments or Concerns

I am the Director of Victim Services for Crime Stoppers of Houston. I am also a Board
member of Parents of Murdered Children and Surviving Family Members of Homicide. I have
been a driving force regarding changing parole set-off laws to allow Parole Board members
more discretion on set-offs upon denying parole to offenders convicted of violent crimes. Last
legislative session we passed HB1511 which allows parole board members discretion upon
denying parole to offenders convicted of Assault with Intent to Impede Breathing anywhere
from 1-5 years to review them for parole. Previously, board members were limited to only a 1-
year set-off.

There is no legitimate reason not to allow parole board members discretion, not a mandate to
utilize more than a 1-year set-off on cases worthy of not being reviewed annually. For
example: Arthur Montemayor was killed by a driver in a hit-run-fatality. The driver who has
an extensive criminal history was sentenced to 12 years in prison in November 2023. He
became parole eligible March 2024. I along with Arthur's sister met with the parole board to
protest his potential release. He was denied parole but was only given a 1 year-set-off by
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statute. This means victims like the Montemayor family will receive a parole notification in 8
months. You really don't even get a year between parole notification. There is no reason to put
this and so many other victims' families through this needless emotional rollercoaster simply
because the parole board has no discretion.

Your Proposed Solution

I would like to see additional discretion granted to the Parole Board on all cases in which there
is an identifiable victim. All cases involving assaultive criminal conduct, Intoxicated
Manslaughter, Burglary of a Habitation and Failure to Stop and Render Aid resulting in a
fatality should be added to the list of offenses the parole board should have discretion not to
review annually after denying parole. Having discretion will also allow the board to still
consider a 1-year-set-off for all offenses. Having additional discretion will allow the Parole
board more time and resources to consider cases more worthy of parole rather than spending
valuable time and resources considering thousands of cases annually. From my perspective
passing legislation would be a win-win for all concerned parties.

My Comments Will Be Made Public
Yes



From: Texas Sunset Advisory Commission

To: Sunset Advisory Commission
Subject: Public Input Form for Agencies Under Review (Private/Before Publication)
Date: Tuesday, November 19, 2024 8:46:15 PM

Submitted on Tue, 11/19/2024 - 18:43
Submitted by: Visitor
Submitted values are:

Choose the agency that you would like to provide input about
Texas Department of Criminal Justice

Public Comments
1

First Name
Andrew

Last Name
Kahan

Organization you are affiliated with
Crime Stoppers of Houston

Email

akahan(@crime-stoppers.org

City
Houston

State
Texas

Your Comments or Concerns

Dominique Menefee was on parole for Aggravated Robbery with a Deadly Weapon. He was
charged with a non-violent felony and was granted a PR Bond. The parole division issued a
blue warrant for his arrest 5 days later. Six days after being granted a PR Bond he was charged
with the murder of Sherniqua Banks a mother of three children. Another offender on parole for
Assault with Intent to Impede Breathing. While on parole he was charged with Felon in
Possession of a Weapon. He posted a cash bond. Four hours after bonding out the parole
division issued a warrant for his arrest. Four hours too late. A few months later he was arrested
and charged with Capital Murder

I was asked in my capacity as the Victim Services Director at Crime Stoppers by a victim's
family for a copy of the parole certificate of the offender who committed the crime against
them. I submitted an open records request to obtain the parole certificate. I was advised that
information was confidential and by statute I was not entitled to receive a copy of the parole
cerificate
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Your Proposed Solution

I am proposing legislation be enacted stating anyone on parole for a violent crime should not
be entitled to receive a PR Bond if they are charged with a felony.

Legislation needs to be filed to mandate a 48-hour cooling off period when a parolee is
charged with a felony in order to give the parole division an opportunity to decide whether
they will be issuing a blue warrant. If they elect to issue a warrant within 48 hours the offender
is already in custody meaning resources to bring the parolee back into custody will no longer
be necessary. If the parole division opts not to issue a warrant the offender would be able to
post bond. We believe a 48-hour window is fair to all parties and will play a role in the
reduction of crime.

Simply put a parole certificate should be made available to victims of crime and victim
advocates. There is no legitimate reason why this information should be deemed confidential.
Victims should have the right to know what conditions of parole the offender who harmed
them is under. By allowing victims and their advocates to ascertain parole certificates it will
undoubtedly assist them and give them peace of mind. Legislation must be enacted to allow
parole certicates to be made public at the very least to vicitms and victim advocates

My Comments Will Be Made Public
Yes





